Awards Program

Recognizing Those Who Improve Dam Safety

ASDSO annually honors those individuals and organizations providing exemplary contributions to the improvement of dam safety in the U.S.

These awards are presented during ASDSO's annual national conference.

Nominate someone for a 2017 ASDSO Award! 

Read about the 2016 ASDSO award recipients.

ASDSO Awards History, 1985-2016 (PDF)


Award Descriptions

Regional Awards of Merit

The Regional Awards of Merit are given to individuals, companies, organizations, municipalities, or other entities working in the dam safety field that have made outstanding contributions to dam safety on a regional level. Past winners include companies owning or operating dams that have shown marked improvement in maintaining or rehabilitating their dam(s) and their dam safety programs; individuals who have made exemplary contributions to dam safety in their communities; and local agencies with innovative ideas for improving their dam safety programs.

Regional award nominations may focus on a notable rehabilitation, much the same as the National Rehabilitation Project of the Year award, but differ in that the award is recognizing the dam safety benefits to a specific area, state or region provided by the project(s). These awards are intended to recognize the overall contributions of an individual or organization.

The nominated individual or organization should demonstrate recent, noteworthy efforts and accomplishments in the field of dam safety.

National Dam Rehabilitation Project of the Year

This award recognizes a unique remedial design that advances the state-of-the-art in the field of dam safety and exemplifies the professional engineering and construction standards that dam safety requires. The award is presented to the individual, company, agency, or organization whose project is judged to best represent those qualities from among this year’s group of qualified nominees. Recognition is given to the dam owner and the designer.

All project construction must be completed, and the project in full operation by April 30, 2015. Unfinished projects will not be considered for this year’s award.

Terry L. Hampton Medal

The Terry L. Hampton Medal was established in 2007 by ASDSO’s Advisory Committee (ADCOM) to recognize Terry L. Hampton’s lifetime achievements in the field of hydrology and hydraulics and his contribution to the ADCOM. The Terry L. Hampton Medal is intended to be awarded to an individual and not an organization. Nominations for the award are accepted from any ASDSO member and will be evaluated based on the following criteria:

  • Hydrologic and/or hydraulic research related to dams of significant impact to dam engineering.
  • Significant contribution to the practice of hydrologic and/or hydraulic engineering for dams.
  • Cumulative portfolio of contributions in hydrologic and/or hydraulic engineering for dams (compilation of the body of work papers, training, education, advancement of the practice, etc.).
  • Involvement in organizations focused on dams, dam safety, dam engineering, etc.
  • New nominations must be submitted to the Awards Committee by June 1st. Although not awarded every year, if a nominee is selected, he or she will be presented with the award at the ASDSO annual conference.

In order to be deemed complete, each nomination must include the following, at a minimum:

  • Completed Terry L Hampton Award Nomination Form identifying the nominee, nominator and other pertinent information
  • Nominee’s curriculum vitae or biographical information
  • Two or three letters of recommendation
Danny K. McCook Award of Merit

The Danny K. McCook Award of Merit in Geotechnical Engineering for Dam Safety. This award was created to honor long-time ASDSO member and contributor, Danny K. McCook, P.E. A nationally-respected geotechnical engineer, Mr. McCook was also a valued mentor and teacher to many in the dam safety community. After a 44 year career with the Natural Resources Conservation Service and as an independent consultant, he passed away suddenly in January, 2013. To honor and continue his legacy, the ASDSO Advisory Committee has established the Danny K. McCook Award of Merit, to recognize an individual for outstanding contributions to dam safety in the field of geotechnical engineering.  The Danny K. McCook Medal is intended to be awarded to an individual and not an organization.

For information on how to nominate someone for this new ASDSO award, please contact

National Award of Merit

Chosen by the ASDSO Board of Directors, this award honors and individual or entity contributing to dam safety on a national level.

President's Award

The ASDSO president annually acknowledges someone that he/she feels is worthy of recognition either for contributions to the advancement of dam safety or for specific assistance to the president over his/her term of office.

ASDSO Honorary Members

The Board of Directors will occasionally honor an individual who has contributed to the improvement of ASDSO and the advancement of dam safety over a lifetime of work. This is a rare award and only goes to a select few. ASDSO Honorary Members are:

Harold (Bud) Andress
Lyle Bentley
David B. Campbell
Catalino Cecilio
Ron Corso
Robert H. Dalton
Jeris Danielson
Alton B. Davis
Delbert Downing
Joseph Ellam
Francis E. Fiegle
Charles H. Gardner
Ken Hansen
John M. Healy
Bill Irwin
Charles Karpowicz
Thomas A. Kelly
Brian Long
Danny McCook
Steven McEvoy
George E. Mills
Carl J. Montana
Charles Pearre
Alan Pearson
J. Bruce Pickens
James D. Simons
Marty Stralow
Constantine "Gus" Tjoumas
Bruce A. Tschantz
Homer B. Willis
Association of State Dam Safety Officials, 239 S. Limestone, Lexington, KY 40508 | 859/550-2788 |

Copyright © 2017. Association of State Dam Safety Officials. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Statement | Disclaimer
Site designed and programmed by Hammond Communications Group, Inc.